‘NEW MUSIC’: Apocalyptica in Shadowmaker

Hey bit munchers!

Happy October!

Ready for some rocking cello-tastic headbanging songs?

Me too.

This isn’t your standard Apocalyptica album, and I’m really not sure how I feel about it.  The majority of the tracks have vocalists.  There is nothing wrong with this in theory.  I enjoy many types of music with vocals, (including everything I’ve ever written a review of so far) and this includes many songs from Apocalyptica.

I’m just really missing the good old cello.

And that’s fine, I love hearing how bands grow as the years go on, and I really do like a lot of the tracks Apocalyptica has put out in collaboration with vocalists.  Broken Pieces, End of Me, I Don’t Care, and Bittersweet are some of my favourites, and to be honest some of these grew on my as time went on (Bittersweet being the best example, the first time I heard that song I was floored in the worst way possible).

I will say that my favourite tracks on Shadowmaker are the instrumental tracks Reign of Fear and Riot Lights.  I do like the vocal tracks also, Cold Blood and House of Chains are really good, and I have no doubt that this album will grow on me as I listen to it.

So really, I just want more tracks like Hall of the Mountian King, Kaamos, and Nothing Else Matters, but hey, that’s why back catalogs exist.  Be sure to give the following links some love:

Apocalyptica Website

Facebook

This is According to Hatchet, thanks for being here!

Leave a comment