‘New Music’: Twenty One Pilots in Blurryface

 

Hey Bitmunchers, welcome back to Music on According to Hatchet!

I’ve had a busy few weeks, and I would have rather written about Murder by Death than Twenty One Pilots, but I’ve promised you Blurryface so here we go!

I’d just like to start off by saying that I don’t understand the difference between hip-hop and rap.  I’m not a huge fan of either I think although I do listen to a lot of K-Pop.

I pride myself on having a unique taste in music.  Maybe a little too much.  I tend to be disappointed in myself when I enjoy ‘mainstream’ music (which,  I  know, is silly) and I’m of the disposition to dislike something just to spite society.  Because society cares xp.  So of course I was determined to dislike Twenty One Pilots.  I was recently forced to listen to them by a friend while setting up giant screens at school.  Then my other friend recommended all of the albums.

Twenty One Pilots was formed in 2009 by Tyler Joseph and Josh Dun.  Side note, Josh Dun spent some time in the band House of Heroes (who are coming out with a new album soon!!!!) and if you read the comments on the video for God Save the Foolish Kings they are all about Josh Dun.  For real.  There is also a 30 minute long video of Josh singing 3 words from that song.  Pilots self released two albums before they were signed by Fueled by Ramen and have now released two more albums, Blurryface being the most recent.

Blurryface combines rap/hip-hop, rock(?), and pop (all indie).  The music is pretty good and I understand why they are so popular.  I think that Twenty One Pilots could be the next Gorillaz for me, I enjoy songs/parts of songs but there is the lingering doubt about the rapping.  The chorus’ in Heavydirtysoul and Stressed Out are very catchy and I can’t stop singing those. Over all this is a good album and I do really like it, I just have conflicting feelings.  So on the off chance you’ve never heard of these guys (which, lets be real, I was the only one who hadn’t) I recommend you check them out right now.

 

This is According to Hatchet, thanks for being here!

[Sources/Links: Photo | Website | Facebook | YouTube | Wikipedia ]

Leave a Reply

