‘Music’: Woodkid

This week we will be talking about Woodkid, a really, really cool musician that my sister reminded me existed when she was home for spring break (shout out to you Kiddo). Sit back and enjoy!

Hello Bit-munchers!

Welcome back to another installment of According to Hatchet where I blather about music I really like!  It’s fun, I promise.

This week we will be talking about Woodkid, a really, really cool musician that my sister reminded me existed when she was home for spring break (shout out to you Kiddo).  Sit back and enjoy!

Yoann Lemoine, a.k.a. Woodkid, is a Polish singer/songwriter/producer who grew up in France.  In 2013 he released the single ‘Iron’ followed by the album ‘The Golden Age’ later that year and two more EP’s.  This year, in collaboration with director Jonas Cuaron, Woodkid released the OST for the movie ‘Desierto’.  If you’re a fan of Assassins Creed, you’ll recognize ‘Iron’ as the trailer track for AC3 Revelations.  You may also recognize ‘I Love You’ as it apparently appeared in Divergent.  Fancy that.

There are four reasons why I think Woodkid is down-right incredible music.

  1. HIS VOICE.  His voice is gorgeous (and so is his beard).  I prefer men’s voices anyway but his voice definitely stands out in a big way.  It’s vaguely gravely while being really smooth and rich like how chocolate sounds.  One thing, that I really don’t mind, is that he mumbles.  So that’s fun x33
  2. THE INSTRUMENTATION.  These songs are grand, sweeping, cinematic masterpieces.  I love that in music.  The swell of the theme is exhilarating and by the end of the track it feels as though you’ve just watched an entire movie with fully developed characters that you actually care about.  The brass is probably my favourite aspect of the instrumentation, especially the low brass.  Low brass is bad ass.  (I’m sorry, it rhymed, I like rhymes, also it’s true).  Also, there are flutes, and I play those.  So that’s cool!
  3. THE PERCUSSION.  I’ve singled the percussion out because it’s just so cool.  I really like when percussion can contribute to the melody without being pitched.  The rhythms are so interesting and engaging, they demand attention.  They add a lot of depth to the music for me.
  4. THE VISUALS.  Just watch any music video for any Woodkid song.  They are mesmerizing.  The videos for ‘Iron’ and ‘The Golden Age’ are just gorgeous pieces of micro cinema.  The video for ‘Volcano’ is awesome because it incorporates a wicked cool snare line and insane programmable lights, two things I really like.

Favourite tracks include: ‘Iron’|the fun summery track ‘I Love You’|’Baltimore’s Fireflies’ gorgeous piano|the haunting ‘Land of All’|Wasteland|

I’m gonna try a thing where I add a YouTube playlist that has collected some of the songs I talked about.  Let me know what you think!

 

This is According to Hatchet, thanks for being here!

[Sources https://www.facebook.com/WoodkidMusic/fref=ts | http://www.woodkid.com/ | http://www.label-gum.com/collections/woodkid | https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEt8Mhya3vI – Desierto trailer]

 

 

Leave a Reply

